So we're car shopping and after a horrendous weekend of looking, haggling, researching, walking away from the crazy, looking for more crazy, and then finally total utter frustration... We have put a deposit down on a car. In Utah. Because Wyoming is so remote that people have lost their minds. Or something like that.
Seriously - why is car shopping such a racket? Why can't there just be a price and then you pay it and all is good? We call it "The Dance". Why do the dance? GGGRRRRRR!!!!!
Our search started on the internet - I figured out the year/make/model of car I wanted. I knew the trim level I wanted, I knew the price, I knew the colors we liked. I was pretty informed. I just hadn't driven one and so we went to a dealership to take one for a drive. We drove it. We liked it. We were sold on this car - except the dealership didn't have the trim level I wanted. They had lesser and they had more. So of course, they tried to sell me the car that had more. $3500 more to be exact. And no - I don't have it like that - I am a working stiff like everyone else.
And then the dance begins...
1...2...3...
"Where do you want your payments to be?" (Ugh...I hate this question - just tell me the price of the car)
1...2...3...
"Your trade is only worth $xxxx..." (Kelly Blue Book says otherwise, jerk)
1...2...3...
"Oh yes, we'll give you more for your trade...oh, did I mention there's a $1,000 delivery fee?" (Nice - you didn't trick me Mr. Salesman. My response was "I'll pick it up myself.")
1...2...3...
"OH! You wanted to pay INVOICE?? I didn't know that! Golly!" (Yes, invoice sounds better to me - do you get lots of customers who like to pay extra because you're so handsome?? I'm not the one.)
1...2...3...
"I know you don't want the extras but they're nice! Why not?" (My response to him was this: 'I don't care about those things. Do you spend $3500 on things you don't care about???? Because I don't.')
1...2...3...
"You want low payments? C'mon, are you really going to pay it off?" (My response while pointing to my current vehicle: 'That's paid off.')
And then the final note...
Me: "This is not working out. I'm ok, this isn't the car I want. I said I wanted a deal. I want sparkles and party hats. This is not sparkles and party hats. It's time for me to go."
GGGRRRRRRRR........
Tuesday, October 18, 2011
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
Good luck in your search for a new car! and Thanks so much for stopping by my blog today!
Post a Comment