Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Car Shopping....UGH

So we're car shopping and after a horrendous weekend of looking, haggling, researching, walking away from the crazy, looking for more crazy, and then finally total utter frustration... We have put a deposit down on a car. In Utah. Because Wyoming is so remote that people have lost their minds. Or something like that.

Seriously - why is car shopping such a racket? Why can't there just be a price and then you pay it and all is good? We call it "The Dance". Why do the dance? GGGRRRRRR!!!!!

Our search started on the internet - I figured out the year/make/model of car I wanted. I knew the trim level I wanted, I knew the price, I knew the colors we liked. I was pretty informed. I just hadn't driven one and so we went to a dealership to take one for a drive. We drove it. We liked it. We were sold on this car - except the dealership didn't have the trim level I wanted. They had lesser and they had more. So of course, they tried to sell me the car that had more. $3500 more to be exact. And no - I don't have it like that - I am a working stiff like everyone else.

And then the dance begins...

1...2...3...

"Where do you want your payments to be?" (Ugh...I hate this question - just tell me the price of the car)

1...2...3...

"Your trade is only worth $xxxx..." (Kelly Blue Book says otherwise, jerk)

1...2...3...

"Oh yes, we'll give you more for your trade...oh, did I mention there's a $1,000 delivery fee?" (Nice - you didn't trick me Mr. Salesman. My response was "I'll pick it up myself.")

1...2...3...

"OH! You wanted to pay INVOICE?? I didn't know that! Golly!" (Yes, invoice sounds better to me - do you get lots of customers who like to pay extra because you're so handsome?? I'm not the one.)

1...2...3...

"I know you don't want the extras but they're nice! Why not?" (My response to him was this: 'I don't care about those things. Do you spend $3500 on things you don't care about???? Because I don't.')

1...2...3...

"You want low payments? C'mon, are you really going to pay it off?" (My response while pointing to my current vehicle: 'That's paid off.')

And then the final note...

Me: "This is not working out. I'm ok, this isn't the car I want. I said I wanted a deal. I want sparkles and party hats. This is not sparkles and party hats. It's time for me to go."

GGGRRRRRRRR........

Saturday, October 15, 2011

October

Good Lord I neglect the heck out of this blog and life is going, going, going 100 miles an hour - it's nuts! I really need to do this like once a week.

Anyway, since the last 'real' post on here so much has happened!

1. The girls started school - 9th and 10th graders live at my house now! Where did they come from?? How did this happen?? Last time I looked they were little babies that still needed me to hold their hand on the way to Kindergarten. *sigh* In all honesty, I am loving having girls in high school! They both went to Homecoming this year - oh geez, that was so over the top exciting for this momma! We had friends over, picture taking, dinner, I made corsages for the first time and the house smelled like hairspray and perfume!

2. Darian got her Learner's Permit. It's scary for me. We originally thought she'd be driving the old 1998 Dodge Ram stick-shift but much to my surprise Daddy felt it was too hard for his lil Princess and has decided to let her drive the mommy car (read: automatic). But all that is about to change because....

3. I'm car shopping again. And I have decided what car I want. And I'm getting it. And it's really toooooooo nice for a 15 year old to practice in. I'm the mom. I make the rules. Darian is convinced that she would like a Dodge Stratus. Yes. A Dodge Stratus. And she wants it because she wants to be able to say "I drive...I drive...I drive a DODGE STRATUS!" a la Will Ferrell on SNL. We all laugh at the idea but since we're totally overindulging our children's every whim and wish (lol - not) we're going to keep an eye out for a Stratus.

4. We took a trip down to Oklahoma a few weeks ago because our awesome friend David made CHIEF!!! So we went to his pinning ceremony and wow - the Navy in Oklahoma is such a class act. The ceremony was so wonderful and family oriented. It was a true pleasure to go and see our friend and his family celebrate his awesome achievement! And I also discovered that Oklahoma City has an amazing Chinatown!! Whodathunk it? Certainly not me, but I can't wait to go back someday!

5. We also spent a day in Oklahoma City downtown. We went on the Canal Boat and ate at Toby Keith's restaurant. On recommendation from the cashier at Outdoor World we tried the fried bologna sandwich. Let me tell y'all - because now I got my southern accent working - it was the best dadgum thing ever! lol Ok, it wasn't like *amazing* but it was tasty and we liked it a lot! Probably won't order it again but maybe we'll try to replicate it at home someday.

6. My summer photography venture was really great fun for me! I loved doing Senior Pictures and Engagements! I earned enough money to pay for a new camera and sweet lens! That was my goal and I was so happy to have achieved it! Since Senior pics are all turned in I will be hibernating until next summer! I also learned that it's a LOT of work and while I love creating art - I'm not a saleswoman or a business woman...nor do I have the desire to become one full time. So any dreams of quitting my job to be a full time photographer have kind of fizzled but as a fun summer art gig - I'm ALLLLLLL over it! :)

I'm sure there's a bajillion other things I could mention but I'll save it for another day! Much love - T

Where are my pictures?

Oh geez...I neglected this blog and now all my pictures are gone...oops!

I'll work on it - I loved the pics I chose for this blog, off to Google a remedy!

Much Love - T

**UPDATE: Thanks to the internet - I'm all up and running again - Google is the bestest thing ever invented!**